HOW TO HOOK UP SOLAR POWER TO MY DUAL BATTERY SET UP

MOSDIF589

Axel Adventures
Did some searches but needed it spelled out for me as I'm not good with electricity.

I have a 2013 Jeep JKU with a GENESIS dual battery system that I have Optima Yellow top batteries installed. I run my ARB fridge and some small LED lights with it but in the summer time in high heat will run the battery down before my camping weekend is up.

What I want is a solar panel that I can install while parked to charge the auxiliary batteriy / batteries while parked. I've been told that I can get a panel and hook it up to the factory alternator cables so the power will run just like it is coming from the battery and let the dual battery system work as if the batteries are being charged by the alternator.

Does this sound possible?

How would you hook up the panels wiring to charge the battery / batteries?

veetee

Yes, thats possible, I guess the solar panel will come with a solar charge controller (regulator). Just connect the the controller output to the starter battery, then when the panel is charging the genisis system will sense the charging voltage and connect the two batteries in parallel, jus as if your alternator is charging.

Reefry

Observer
Solar panels typically operate at a higher voltage than what most batteries can handle and receive as a charge. For example my 100w solar panel operates at around 17 volts. To charge a typical 12v battery you need somewhere around 13-14 volts to charge safely. So wiring one straight into your alternator would most likely not work. But I wouldn't quote me on that, I believe anything is possible! So anyways thats where a solar charger comes in. The charger basically brings down the voltage of the panel to a level more desirable for the battery using a method called PWM (Pulse Wave Modulation) which in turn is just turning on and off really fast to keep it in the correct power band.

jonyjoe101

Adventurer