how many grams of insulation

Stretch79

Observer
Can someone explain this to me? I see insulated waterproof boots with 200g 400g and 800g. If I was going to be spending some time in say the ozark mountains in winter what would be a good amount of grams to go with? I live in Texas where its always HOT so I have no experience with proper insulation. All I know is I can't stand cold feet. I already have Goretex fishing jacket/bibs and with layers underneath these things keep me warm on the lake in 25 degree weather so all I'm lacking is the boots.

Last edited:

GFA

Adventurer
What's your main use for them and how often? Hiking, normal daily use, cold weather fishing? Because you mentioned fishing in the cold I can offer my opinion as I do the same this time of year fishing for grouper offshore. Wet, slippery decks when it's in the 30's can be brutal in anything other than rubber and neoprene boots. The Muck chore boot is awesome in those kind of conditions from about 0° up to about 70°. They do not have any real insulation to speak of but are sized a bit large to allow for good wool socks. The neoprene is pretty warm on its own to about 35° or so also. Even though they are rubber they somehow breathe, I guess by wicking up the liner. They are also great for tromping around in the mud or snow but I'd never attempt hiking in them even though they're comfy, they're a bit heavy for that.

The Original MuckBoots Adult Chore Hi-Cut Boot https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000WG45JO/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_lv4Kub0WF8RJS

Hope it helps

rayra

Expedition Leader
The number values are gram weight per square yard of Thinsulate material. Think of it like R values for fiberglass insulation.
How much insulation to get sort of depends on your level of activity. Hiking / walking you'll need less.