HF Base Station Recommendations

cnynrat

Expedition Leader
Not really overlanding related, but I thought I might tap into the more experienced amateur radio operators here on ExPo.

I am thinking about setting up an amateur base station, and am looking for some advice. By way of background, I've been operating for about 5 years on VHF/UHF, primarily mobile with a little HT thrown in from time to time. I do have my General license. I am primarily interested in HF, but having VHF/UHF capability might be nice as well since right now my only radios are the mobile unit in the truck and a few HTs. Initially I am really just looking to get my feet wet and see where the hobby might take me. I don't think I'll ever be interested in contesting, so anything strongly directed at that type of operation isn't really of much interest.

I've gone back and forth a bit on whether mobile or field use would be of interest. I'm concerned that the smaller rigs targeted at that sort of operation are likely to be harder to use due to the dense packaging and inevitable menu driven interfaces. Perhaps it might be better to have a rig dedicated to that purpose if/when that becomes a real interest. Open to others thoughts on that subject though.

Since all my experience is the very task directed "Talk to people while on the trail" sort of thing, I'm not sure I even have a good understanding of what I should be looking at in terms of requirements. Are there key features or capabilities that I should consider to be important or even "must haves" for a first base station radio? To bias the discussion a little, I tend to prefer to buy things that have some room for me to grow into them rather than things that will become limiting a short time down the road. That said, I'm not going to be dropping $10k on a FTdx9000 anytime soon. ;)

I've done a little looking, and here are some radios I've considered along with an initial reaction: