Help comparing and advising on RTT, have charts.

Qomomoko

WH7zpEc.jpg

Great insight on tent treatment and fabric

Most of my outing are just same day trips to the everglades, hope overnights to come with a comfi RTT.
The comparison chart was based on the brand websites and email from Tepui.
Having Tepui and Thule be “partners”, I get less than 24-hour response to my questions.
ARB is harder to get in Contact with, waiting (5 days ago sent email).
CVT responded within 2 days but very short. Smittybilt was also less than 2 days but a helpful response.

There was a tent for sale local and I took to long to purchase, A Tepui Ayer Ultralite 2 for $750. I did not think it was SUCH a great deal being used and no warranty since Tepui does not warranty 2nd owners. The tent height of 39” was a small turnoff. Pro would be the price and the weight but the thickness of the canvas is much different than others.
(I have no experience or practical understanding of canvas weight).

Day dreaming, I figure the Ruggedizzed Autana 3 would be Ideal though it is 180# on the roof rack.
Then after many videos, I would venture to say the best bet and bang for the buck is the SmittyBilt.
It is very large, a large annex with covered entry. The weight is not the 200# that had me worried for large tents. The material may not be the best but it appears to be the average material strength.
Some of the reasons for not preferring SmittyBilt is the ladder and the lower quality matress. Telescopic ladder I could buy for under $100 and a King Sizie matress for under $100 too.
I suppose, ignoring the Tepui weight, I would justify purchasing the Ruggedizzed Autana 3 for $1700 ish jejeje. I really like the idea of having a cover at the ladder entry and annex.

I continue to consider the small tent b/c of weight and it is sure to be the most convenient and cost.