Guidance on installing large full picture windows/patio door on an Expedition truck box.

Hello all!

So I've been designing out my future home module that can be moved from one vehicle platform to the next with just a few connections removed. I'm still working out my envelope conditions and framing. At the moment in terms of budget I'm looking at a solid welded steel frame with rigid insulation and an aluminum exterior skin.

I work as an Architect during the 9-5, so I'm fairly well versed in terms of construction practices, The main drawback of my field is everything I design is placed on concrete foundations. Not so much on a truck chassis that will be experiencing constant forces while in use.

So, for my rig I am wanting a solid enclosed box for security purposes, with a fold down deck that will fold up flush with the box, and covering a main full picture window/patio door. I am looking at having a Window custom fabricated from Anderson Windows. Size being approx. 60" wide, 80" tall. I plan on using this rig in mountainous regions, and want the natural light and panoramic views that such a window can provide. The biggest concern that I have is the flexing of the frame, and vibrations that may negatively impact the window's functionality. I'm lacking in experience in terms of the physics acting on an Expedition truck's box, and am wondering if someone here could tell me what the limitations are in terms of window size. If there's a high chance that such a large window could break under forces, I may need to look at another route.

Any feedback would be appreciated, thanks.

yabanja

Explorer
I would stick to an RV style window. They can be purchased in fairly large sizes. The rounded corners help prevent breakage as of course does the tempered glass. I purchased mine quite reasonably on eBay from overstock sellers.

Allan

SkiFreak

Crazy Person
The trick here is to try and reduce the torsional twisting of the camper box as much as is possible.