Going on first 10-day "expedition", need help choosing what stuff to bring

zimm17

Observer
I have lots of experience backpacking, camping, tiny RV'ing (Casita), but my upcoming trip is my first "overlander" doing 10 days on the roads and trails across Georgia. We'll have 4 jeeps, but I'm packing like I'm going solo just in case. We have a designated trail chef cooking all the meals, but again, I want to be self sufficient in case he bails or breaks down.

I have a lot of gear to choose from and I'm not sure what's best as far as the kitchen stuff goes. I have stoves ranging from an alcohol cat food can stove, iso-butane burners, MSR windburner, 2 burner coleman (liquid and propane versions), to a dual burner Partner stove. For this trip I'm leaning towards the iso-butane windburner for water, and the single burner cooker for using with pots.

Pots and pans- thinking a 10" frying pan and 1 quart pot. Leave the tiny mess kits, huge 3qt, and tea pot at home. Single mess bowl/plate/spork for me.

Washing tub- no idea?

Tables- I have folding aluminum ones- a 20x20 and a 43x28. Leaning towards the small one.

Camp chair is covered. Tent, I'm going with a ultralight 3 person from my collection. Sleeping bag and fleece. Self inflating mattress.

We're doing a single night test camp this weekend to test out our selected gear.

Any pointers would be great.

V-max

Roast over an open fire with a grill out of an old oven, weiner sticks, a dutch oven and a cast iron frying pan. A percolator for the morning coffee and a case of red wine to sip while watching the coffee brew.

ChasingOurTrunks

Sounds like a fun adventure! Glad you have friends to do it with, too! I have some ideas for you:

Pots and pans- thinking a 10" frying pan and 1 quart pot. Leave the tiny mess kits, huge 3qt, and tea pot at home. Single mess bowl/plate/spork for me.