GMRS Antenna Options

Billoftt

You notice in the pattern chart above the pattern is still useful, although there's a significant null right where you probably see repeaters.
Sometimes I think I get better range on simplex than with repeaters with my Larsen 2/70SH.
All joking aside, I get 5 miles on UHF(3/4) with simplex and 8 miles on VHF(1/4) simplex. (Southeastern US, lots of rolling hills and heavy vegetation.) One of the towers near my home that has VHF/UHF analog and D-Star I get 40-50 miles on the VHF repeater struggles on UHF at 10 miles.

moose545

This is a lot of good info, and as a Noob I'm trying to digest it all. Looking to get something for my 4x4 solely, will get a cheap CB as its most used and cheapest, but will go GMRS shortly thereafter. I don't quite understand the NMO mount vs. ? I'm guessing MaxxRad or Larsen magnetic 12" 1/4 wave will do the trick for me? Mini-mobile up front, run the cable back, and place the GMRS antennae on the top/back corner area?

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
I don't quite understand the NMO mount vs. ?
NMO means 'N'ew 'MO'torola, which by new they mean Motorola redesigned the way they were mounting antennas to vehicle sheet metal. Not exactly sure what the mount looked like originally nor when exactly the "new" one was introduced, probably in the 1970s or 1980s.

It requires in standard form that you drill a 3/4" hole in your sheet metal and mount it. That's the part on the left of this photo. The cable runs inside the vehicle completely. An NMO antenna has a base on it that matches the external part. There's ways to use it on a bracket and not drill a hole, but that wasn't the original intention.

The primary alternative is to use a variation of the connector you see on most ham radios. This is usually referred to a UHF mount or PL259/SO239 mount. When they make an antenna that mounts this way it'll be more substantial than a coax connector but it's essentially the same dimensions otherwise.