General Ham license study suggestions?

Comanche Scott

Expedition Leader
Hey guys,

If you knew then what you know now, what would you do to study for your General Ham license?

My buddy and I are going to study together. We both have the 8th gen ARRL G.C. License Manual (2015-2019).
I have the Tech license. He doesn't. Both of us have a good basic knowledge of electronics.

Thanks for the input! :beer:

Airmapper

Inactive Member
Get on ARRL or QRZ's website and do the practice tests and questions until you can pass a practice test every time.

I prefer the ARRL one as it lets you do sub-sections easier and gives you a nice report for each sub-section.

DaveNay

Adventurer
I studied for two days for a couple of hours. It's not so bad, Scott.

Yeah, it's not like taking the BAR exam. I just took my tests this past Sat and I passed the technician with no problem, basically just by "studying" the practice exams at http://www.qrz.com/hamtest/

I barely passed the general test even though I hadn't actually studied for it....mostly common sense stuff in the tech with some more applied knowledge in the general.

The extra exam though.....that's a different beast. Unless you are an EE, there is a lot of stuff that is going to be new to an average Joe.

prerunner1982

Adventurer
I am not a fan of taking practice test until you get it right. This puts the right AND wrong answers in your head.
I used the study guides from KB6NU for my Tech and General. Read through them a couple times, went through it once and wrote down what I had problems remembering and read through it again before I even looked at a practice test. This way the only answer I knew to the question was the right answer.
But everybody tests/studies differently so whatever works best for you.
http://www.kb6nu.com/study-guides/

Comanche Scott

Expedition Leader
Thanks guys! Sincerely appreciate the suggestions and input. :beer: