Garmin Aquires Delorme Publishing and Delorme InReach

Comanche Scott

Expedition Leader
Just got an email that Garmin acquired Delorme. According to the link below, this is probably old news. So I will apologize up front, if this has already been posted.
According to the email the InReach services will stay the same, except for the name on the billing.
Don't know how it will affect the future of InReach, but *maybe* down the road we'll see a better InReach Navigation GPS. :)

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/garmin-completes-acquisition-delorme-120000608.html;_ylt=AwrTcd1ahNhWBS0AKPwnnIlQ;_ylu=X3oDMTByb2lvbXVuBGNvbG8DZ3ExBHBvcwMxBHZ0aWQDBHNlYwNzcg--

kojackJKU

Autism Family Travellers!
Interesting. InReach is awesome. But I have always found delorme lacking in GPS units. Don't know why!

gunnermoose

Adventurer
I have been running an InReach since 2013. My fear is that Garmin will take it and increase the service prices. Sure you will be grandfathered in at current rates, but if a new feature is added you will have to convert and pay whatever the new service fees are.

I have been real happy whit the way the service and functionality has improved over the years.

jeep670

Adventurer
Fyi, InReach Canada just raised the prices... Got an email less than an hour ago with the new pricing.

jeep670

Adventurer
Well, here they blame it on the weak CAD $ but we all know if the CAD gets stronger they won't lower the prices..

1leglance

2007 Expedition Trophy Champion, Overland Certifie
Well having been a fan of ANYTHING but Garmin for years I am not sure I am happy about this.
Been running Delorme Topo on a netbook for a long time, love my InReach and can't stand that Garmin has shunned the use of Mapsource on a laptop in a vehicle for years.

Oh well, since I can't afford to buy Delorme myself I guess I will have to wait and vote with my dollars depending on what changes are made.

kojackJKU

Autism Family Travellers!