Fridge with digital temperature control?

motas

Adventurer
Hi all,

Anyone know if any 12v fridges have a proper digital temperature control system to hold a reasonably steady temperature? Would prefer upright but would be happy with chest options as well.

I've had Engels over the years but I'm sick of constantly adjusting the dial to stop warm or frozen food as the ambient temperature changes so much over the day. It seems most fridges have the same simple warmer-colder dial. Doesn't seem that hard in this day and age to have a digital control system.

Cheers.

nwoods

Expedition Leader
I think my second generation ARB 50qt has digital control. However, its all relative, and I mean that literally, I am not an expert on this, but my understanding is that the compressors have an effective range, so they will only cool down to a certain range from ambient. If you have your fridge set at 36 and it has a range of 40 degrees, the warmest ambient temperature it can maintain 36 degrees in would be 36+40 = 76 degrees ambient local temp. Maybe not the best example, but its easy math :)

motas

Adventurer
Fwiw,
My low budget Alpicool uses a ’digital’ control.
Last month I used it a couple weeks. At the temp setting I was using and with a Govee transmitter laying inside on top of the contents, which records to a phone, shows interior fluxuates -.5° to +2.5°C as compressor swtches on/off.
Normally I keep the fridge in ’max mode’ which should keep temperature closer to its set point by running more frequently.
I never messed with ’eco mode’. I expect that will create wider temperature swing to maintain an average.
Thanks for the suggestion, that’s not a terrible temperature swing, definitely better than my not low budget Engel. I’m not too fussed about power draw just want my food to stay cold but not frozen!