Folding Kayak experiences?

Martinjmpr

Wiffleball Batter
Wife and I have been kayaking on our camping trips since 2014. Our first kayaks were purchased at Bass Pro, 10' long sit-on-top kayaks. Very stable and easy to use but have one HUGE drawback: Weight.

These kayaks weigh around 65lbs EACH. I sold mine in 2020 and bought a much lighter (~35lbs) more conventional plastic kayak but my wife still has her 65lb boat anchor.

Problem is - we're both getting older and lofting that kayak (and even my smaller one) onto the roof of my truck is getting really tiresome.

This past weekend (labor day) we went to Ruedi Reservoir and one of the people in our group had an Oru Kayak. These are folding kayaks made of a corrugated plastic material:

We were both intrigued. Not only are these kayaks able to fold into a small package, they only weigh about 25lbs.

I started doing some research online and got bombarded by ads for various other folding kayaks.

Right now we have testimonial evidence (from someone we trust) about the Oru kayaks.

So my question for the group is this:

Who has used a folding kayak (any brand) and what was your experience? My biggest concern is long-term utility. These folding 'yaks are expensive (~$1000 or so) so if we go this route, I want to make sure I get something worthy of the price.

So I'm soliciting input on anyone with actual experience with any of these folding 'yaks.

Thanks in advance!

Willsfree