First offroad trailer build

OrangePower

Hi

I must say I`m getting addicted in planning my first trailer build. I would like to build offroad trailer 5x10 and inner height arround 55". It must not be heavier then 750kg or 1650pounds fully equiped.

Since we need registration here in eu and for DIY trailer you need A LOT of documentation I started drawing one in Solidworks and making some simulation for choosing correct material and to have calculations for registration office.

In general I know what I want but I have no experience in some areas.

I will use this trailer in hot summer and maybe in some cold snowy winter nights (maybe) in general I think I will not be needing heating or cooling just vents to ventilate sleeping area before sleep.

My first queastion is: insulation

1. is it ok to have on or not, since this leaving area is small

My concern is if I take wood and glue aluminium, metal or plastic plate on it, where condensation will be on cold nights?

I was looking at composite plates but they are expensive so my plan is to make:

- outer shell probably out of metal plate or maybe plastic material that is used on campers (I can order this material in different thicknes (1mm, 2mm....),
- inner shell out of plywood (maybe 1") if there will not be any insulation
- maybe walls out of (from outside to inside) - plastic 2mm thick - plywood 10mm - 20mm insulating panels - 10mm plywood.

I dont need walls to be strong to support it self because I will use metal L profiles on outer side for protection and for monting construction of walls.

What do you prefer for walls when building this kind of trailer?

Attachments

• trailer bed1.jpg
    trailer bed1.jpg
    59.5 KB · Views: 40
  • trailer bed2.jpg
    trailer bed2.jpg
    64.8 KB · Views: 41

john61ct

Adventurer
Insulation is very important if using active heating or cooling off grid to save energy.

Do not allow thermal bridging with metal to the inside.