fargo vs elmariachi...new bikepacking rig

Flagster

Expedition Leader
I am relatively new to the whole bikepacking thing and my excursions have been limited to one night stands since my bikes aren't currently the best for frame bags and multiple bottles, etc

I am now looking for a bike I can add a bit more bags to and turn weekends easily here in N. AZ. Currently planning memorial day in the N. Rim Grand Canyon area.

I have been saving pennies for the past year now...and working on turning over the stable...

Salsa is going to get some business from me in the next week or so as I am planning on ordering a bike or two that will be a little more easy to load for longer trips.

Budget is fixed and right now my choices are:

1. el mariachi...most likely the ti frame...I don't race much anymore but I like having the option...

2. fargo...possibly the ti frame but more likely the fargo 2 in steel with the carbon fork.
main concern I have with the fargo build is I am not a fan of the dual tap sram shifters. I always felt that they took a lot more effort to shift to a lower gear than the shimano counterparts. The necessary swing of the dual tap arm for the down shift seems excessive and awkward. I haven't ridden new sram though as my red shifters are from 2008 so I don't know if this has improved.
The mechanical discs are also meh...my beargrease came with the bb7s and they work but I am planning on switching them to hydralic asap.

Neither of these are deal breakers but I guess I was hoping to hear from those who have done a lot of bike packing what they might prefer if you could choose only one.

I could possible squeeze both out of my budget with the lower build kit on the el mariachi but I would like to pick one and go with it for the time being...

What say yous guys...

I know the salsa vibe is strong in the forum so I am hoping some of you guys chime in...

Christophe Noel

Expedition Leader