Enlighten me on the WK please

ratled

Adventurer
Still looking for my next ride. Somehow the WK always stays on the radar even though I have no experience with them, nor does anybody I know. What do I need to know, what to look out for, what to expect maintenance and replacement wise, etc. Not planing anything major in terms of trails, needs to be daily driver dependable, and when go I can pack heavy as I don't just off road but fishing, hunting and small scale mining gear are just some of the things I carry for.

Anyone have any good you tube videos on the WK for dummies?

Thanks for your time and info!

jeepgc

Adventurer
Hi,

Am the owner of a 3.0l V6 CRD Limited S 2010, really nice low mileage example and a 5.7 hemi 2006.which is our work horse.

I love the wk, but I wouldn't really recommend buying one now.

Am UK based, so my opinion may be due to my location.

For the past couple of years, have been struggling to locate certain parts and as time goes on, some minor things (interior light bulbs) for example, I cannot source, so have had to just leave them.

Both vehicles run well and still drive well, CRD is very smooth.

If I were looking to buy a WK now, I'd be concerned about sourcing replacement parts.

Sent from my I3312 using Tapatalk

nwoods

Expedition Leader
I just bought a 2006 WK with the 5.7L HEMI and QuadraDrive II. I've only had a few months, so I can't offer a lot based experience, but here are my thoughts:

The previous generation (the WJ) had solid axles front and rear, and offered a softer ride, SIGNIFICANTLY more articulation on the trail, and slightly more headroom in the interior. The suspension on the WJ is basically the same as the Jeep TJ, and parts and aftermarket support is plentiful.