Engine swap/ transmission / air shift ideas

Hey guys

i promise i be finished pestering this board in about 30 days when we go back to work. but for now i'm back...
with yet another looney but possibly clever idea.

i have a gen one, a V43 i believe. i'm a very capable mechanic with amazing resources at my disposal.

background.

the 3.0 is not an American engine. Its slow and underpowered and not terribly fuel efficient. i love it, but i'm tired of it. i've had too many walk-outs from break downs . The darn engine/ electronix is too complex/old for a long-way outback country rig.

this winter with too much time on my hands,

i have rebuilt my suspension, i have devised a means of converting to coil over shocks. i have dreamt up an engine swap . i have dreamt up a transmission swap

way too much time on my hands for sure.

want to share it with you felllas.

A pushrod engine is to me a much better design for a low rpm (and even high rpm) engine.. not complex, durable, and a torque curve which is much more in line with offroad driving.
ive chosen a 4.3 v6 chevy engine largely because it was free. its fuel injected, and its a old clunker. came out of a suzuki.
anyway i chose it to start my engine swap.

most everyone who swaps these engines speaks highly of them, power, economy and for me, weight / size savings over a v8.
simple little engine tucked into the montee bay.
going to use hydarulic mounts from a caddy.

The transmisssion:AHHH here is where i might need some input.
the GM transmission doesnt play well with my rock trac transfer case.
the shift controllers are damned expensive.
the 700 r4 needs adapters for the t case.
none fit well without a body lift - all very expensive