Driving in Sand

FrenchieXJ

Expedition Leader
Hi Gait,

Your correct! I watched the video and their was no mention of lowering the pressure. I have over 45 years of driving experience much of it in sand. I am a I4WDTA certified instructor/educator. If you have any questions on sand driving I will be happy to answer them. I would prefur to do it by personal email. The two reasions is the form has limits on the size of the post and I get long-winded. Second is over the years there are people who think that they know it all and want to argue with everything that is said. That is their provocative to do that. I just do not like to waist my time with these type of people. I will start a conservation (PM) with you with my personal email.

Da Frenchman

I experimented significantly with pressures in Fido on a recent 10k mile trip. Running 37x12.5 17" tires. In VERY soft sand at highway pressure (50psi) the truck was having difficulty progressing-ie the engine will bog but the truck still moves ok in 2nd gear low range. Lower the pressures to 20 and you are suddenly invincible the difference is really profound. The truck could easily be driven in high range 2nd or 3rd gear at the low pressure.

My 2 cents.

Allan

DetroitDarin

Itching. And Scratching
Uh....yeah. I'd suppose tire pressure is of paramount importance to sand driving. Probably 85% tire pressure, 15% momentum and another 10% driving skill. :)

As an example - sand dune driving on 315/70/17 Dura's, I went down to 19psi and couldn't make it up a huge dune. I went down to 16 and the truck went right up. :) Don't lose a bead, but air down a lot.

Hi Gait,