Drifta Drawer Style Build (Toyota Prado 120/ Lexus GX470)

GXWagon

Adventurer
Welcome to the Idiots Guide to the Drifta Drawer DIY Build:smiley_drive:
...Under $300

2017-05-02 13.28.29_zpsqnwhe4ud.JPG
2017-05-02 13.30.13_zpsm3dvr21s.JPG

I'm gonna call these Thrifta Drawers. 90lbs of amazing.

I found out I wasn't able to get Drifta Drawers shipped to the USA so I will be building my own. I will be doing my best to get as close as possible to the drifta style, including the slide out table and using HDPE for the slides. Here is where I will detail my adventure. My goal is to make this easy for anyone to build these. I am not a professional carpenter by any stretch of the imagination. You will see my successes and mistakes. Feel free to send me feedback or hate mail along the way. :ylsmoke:

Here we go,

Supplies You will Need
3 - 4'x8' sheets of 1/2 Ply (Sanded Ply) ($130 price includes cut to custom sizes)
1 - sheet of 1/4 Ply (Sanded Ply)
Wood Glue - ($5.37)
Screws - ($4.14)
Sand Paper ($5)
Black Stain ($5)
Clear Lacquer ($5)
Foam Brush ($1 a piece)
8 x 1/8" thick HDPE (For the sliders) - ($26.21 price includes cut to custom sizes)
Trunk Liner Carpet (I got mine for $6 per yard and used 6 yards)
Automotive Spray Glue for Carpet ($5)
2 x Locking Paddle Latches - ($8 each on ebay)
Folding Table Legs
Ball Beraing Latch for Table ($2)
Spring Loaded Sea Dog Flush Pull Tie Downs ($15 for pack of 10)

Tools You will Need
Measuring Tape
Drill
Drill Bit
Countersink Drill Bit
Pen or Pencil
Chisel
Chalk Line (Nice to have but not necessary)
Orbital Sander (Nice to have but not necessary)
Chop/Mitre Saw (Only if you want to make the pull-out table)

Step 1:
Measure the H x W x D you would like your drawers to be. I will be building mine 12"H x 42"W x 37"D
The interior of the left drawer slot will measure 11"H x 20 1/4"W x 37"D
The exterior measurement of the left drawer will be 10 3/4"H x 20 1/8"W x 37"D