Drawers: Metal vs. wood

mortimersnerd

I just picked up a F150 and am planning out my sleeping platform/drawer system. I've done a ton of metal fabrication, but am seeing very few drawers made out of welded tube. Is it that most people don't have the tools and ease of construction, or is there something better about setups made from plywood?

Roverrr

Ours are metal, built by American Adventure Lab, along with the shelf. They are super sturdy. We also didn’t want wood. Both the fridge slide and drawers are mounted on custom aircraft grade aluminum.

Attachments

• E781B8CA-FBAC-4E85-89FC-BC90664F25EB.jpeg
    E781B8CA-FBAC-4E85-89FC-BC90664F25EB.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 58

NatersXJ6

Explorer
More woodworkers in the world and the tube adds thickness and removes space. No reason you couldn’t make welded tube drawers if you have the tools and skills.

dstefan

I’m a woodworker, but went with 8020 open frame with some 12mm Baltic birch where needed and 5mm for some sides. What I dont get is the seeming desire to overbuild drawers and making them really heavy. I made coroplast drawers that weigh about 1.5lb and are very tough. Definitely keeps the weight way down. No need for heavy and expensive runners, but they need a solid base to slide on. Sure, go that route if you need a 5’ pullout full kitchen, but not all drawers need to be built to handle a Class 5 hurricane!
1650408854212.jpeg
1650409112137.jpeg
I weighed these full and the top pic in the camper weighed 13lbs and the bottom 27. They both slide out for storage indoors which is necessary for me. I have had zero problems on some really rocky rough off camber roads.

Here’s a quick how to make them from another thread: