Don't have anything relevant to add, just wanted to be the first

BIGdaddy

Expedition Leader
:D

seriously though, I'd love to get some info about SAR in San Diego, that doesn't have anything to do with the Sheriff's department.

Once upon a time i was an EMT and a firefighter up in Sacramento.

Regards,
Brian

PhulesAU

Explorer
Tired of being in a SAR State from H##l, In Texas each county sheriff is responsable for operations. The state was "Fix'nto" write standards and guidelines. But...... 4 years that I been waiting and still nothing. UGH
Most of what we do anymore is at the very local level. lost persons and evidence searchs. About ready to "chuck it" .

ntsqd

Heretic Car Camper
I've been seeing spotty refs to "stand alone" SAR units. Units that are not affiliated with any particular county government. Noticed a couple of such vehicles while in Nevada last weekend. A general thread on those would be a good thing.

Maximus Ram

Expedition Leader
This is going to awsome, I do believe. NNow I know nothing beats proper training, but this sub-forum can turn into a great resource for information on possibly where to find classes/workshops , types of gear , what works/ what doesn't and real life experiences.
Another great area on ExPO......:wings: :wings: :wings:

offroad_nomad

Adventurer
Brian,

Check out the San Diego Mountain Rescue Team. They are a non-profit organization, like my team, that works alongside law enforcement.

Ian

BIGdaddy said:
:D

seriously though, I'd love to get some info about SAR in San Diego, that doesn't have anything to do with the Sheriff's department.

Once upon a time i was an EMT and a firefighter up in Sacramento.

Regards,
Brian

rionorte

Howdy!
Waiting for the next CERT class in my area. This sub forum and the SAR folks will certainly help me be a competent first responder out in the field.

Currently in the Medical area as an RN experienced in ICU and ER at a large Metro LA Level 1 hospital.

Rallyroo

Expedition Leader