custom bumper reliability

trae

Adventurer
Howdy everyone!

I'm curious how small custom fabrication shops ensure that their bumpers and recovery points are up to spec and won't shear under load? Part of the reason I'm interested in this, is because a vehicle I'm researchign (nissan xterra) doesn't have any obvious recovery points.

My background is in software, so I dont know anything about the hardware and materials science, but I want to learn.

Thanks

Robert Bills

Explorer
Stick with established suppliers for your Nissan Xterra front bumper and you should be fine.

Examples of suppliers whose Xterra bumpers have a good "real world" track records and which are regularly used for winching and recovery efforts are Shrockworks [http://www.shrockworks.com/], Hefty Fabworks [http://www.heftyfabworks.com/, ARB [available through XterraPerformance.com and other sources], and Calmini [https://www.calmini.com/model.php?m=37&b=1&t=6]. Hardcore Offroad, a relatively new entry into the Xterra markeplace, is reported to make a good product [http://www.hardcoreoffroadpa.com/ but their Facebook page is their primary Internet contact point, https://www.facebook.com/HardcoreOffroad/?fref=ts].

An example of a shop with a less than perfect reputation is P&P Engineering, which makes tube bumpers for Xterras. However the build quality is inconsistent and the owner turns into a complete d*ckhead if a customer dares challenge his lack of responsiveness. An example of a company to stay away from at all costs is InSain Fabication in Colorado, which can turn out pretty welds but the company screwed many Xterra owners in 2015 and early 2016 in a group buy organized on an Xterra forum.

Best of luck in your search for the perfect bumper for you.

maktruk

Observer
A couple of pieces of 3/4" thick by about 12" long angle iron and a couple of well placed holes and you could bolt them up to the stock tow hook locations.

9967d3c543774f56fbd2910ddea4bf5c.jpg