Considering this 98 Gen 2.5

OneTime

Adventurer
I looking at this 98 Gen 2.5 with 160,000 http://phoenix.craigslist.org/nph/ctd/1321488998.html

I spoke with the owner/car salesmen on the phone. He said he picked it up at an auction and is using it at his personal vehicle. States "If it sells great, if not ill keep it for me" Im taking that with a huge grain of salt considering the source. He told me he got a great deal cause the milage scared everyone else away. Per the salesmen all the belts are new, unkown if the timing belt has been changed. He thinks it has been, Another grain of salt. Any way to find out? I have never used car fax before so I dont know what info it will give me. The price seems really good and I it's the model and color I am looking for. Owner also told me it has new (unkown brand) 31x10 ATs

From the pics it almost looks like it stands a little taller than stock. Nice and level too

What do I need to look for? Id like to get another 100,000 miles of highway, very light off road from it. Possible?

off-roader

Expedition Leader
If this one has the winter package with locking rear dif stock from mitsu, then I say go for it. A friend recently bought one here in California (S.Cal) for about the same amount but with the Winter Package. Critical if you plan to wheel it on more than easy to moderate trails.

These are pretty capable in near stock form. Upgrade's I'd do include...
Minimum 33" tires (crank torsion bars up front)

My 96 is running 35's (required a 2" BL) & cranked torsion bars.

Aside from cosmetic / creature comfort upgrades I'll also be upgrading to 2.85:1 xcase gears and 4.9:1 R&P gears.

I may upgrade to a front ARB RD110 locker as well.

kevin

Observer
I would consider asking for a carfax report. Most dealers will provide them for free. If not get the vin number and run one yourself.

OneTime

Adventurer
A very freindly memeber on wire4x4 stopped by and checked it out for me. Here is his report:

Enjoy your new truck.