Can I run Leopard?

ChuckB

Expedition Leader
Need some help from the Mac gurus. I'm not up to speed on all this new stuff. You'll see what I mean in a minute.
I have run into a bit of a problem. I am currently a full-time student getting my Masters and need to complete a PC cd-rom based course for work. My only computer at home is a 12" PowerBook and I'm working out of my house and don't have easy access to a PC.
My current Mac served me well for 4+ years before the hard-drive finally died. I replaced the HD (160GB) and added RAM so now its at 1.25 GB. Here's the specs.

Machine Name: PowerBook G4 12"
Machine Model: PowerBook6,4
CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.1)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 1.33 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 1.25 GB
Bus Speed: 167 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 4.8.3f1

My question is can I run Leopard and more specifically Bootcamp on this machine? Based on the requirements from the Apple website it looks like it should be possible. Here are the min. requirements.

Mac computer with an Intel, PowerPC G5, or PowerPC G4 (867MHz or faster) processor
512MB of memory
DVD drive for installation
9GB of available disk space
Some features require a compatible Internet service provider; fees may apply.
Some features require Apple's .Mac service; fees apply

My second question is then do I have to purchase Windows as well? So I'd be looking at $130 for Leopard and $180 for Windows XP vs. buying a new iMac.

I love my 12" Powerbook and I'm not really looking to purchased a new computer right now unless it is absolutely necessary. I appreciate any advice. TIA.

Last edited:

whipp

Observer
You should be able to run Leopard, but not Boot Camp.

Boot Camp (to dual boot into windows) requires an Intel based Mac.

RAV4fun

Observer
What he said...

Your specs are fine for 10.5 but you have to have an newer Macbook running an Intel processor to install windows.

What about the cd makes it PC only? Have you tried sticking it in your powerbook to see if it can be read?