Can a comealong substitute for a winch?

Mobryan71

Depends on the comealong. Your 19.99 Harbor Freight model, probably not. One of these : More Power Puller, yes. MPP is just as expensive as a low end vehicle mounted winch, but way more versatile, able to pull in any direction or to be carried away from the truck to clear trails, ect.

I've had a MPP for several years, love it. I don't need it often, but when I do, it is exactly what I need.

Matt

trae

Adventurer
Depends on the comealong. Your 19.99 Harbor Freight model, probably not. One of these : More Power Puller, yes. MPP is just as expensive as a low end vehicle mounted winch, but way more versatile, able to pull in any direction or to be carried away from the truck to clear trails, ect.

I've had a MPP for several years, love it. I don't need it often, but when I do, it is exactly what I need.

Matt

Did you get the cable or synthetic version? I’ve been eyeing it for a couple of years. I don’t want a vehicle mounted winch.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gringo m

Observer
Did you get the cable or synthetic version? I’ve been eyeing it for a couple of years. I don’t want a vehicle mounted winch.

I also have a MPP. Worth the high cost. I went synthetic myself. Safer, stronger, lighter, easier to deal with.

Alloy

Tifor jack is an option

Stay away from Manila rope if it can't be kept dry. It rots from the inside when wet.

The answer I always go with is; the Hi-Lift can do that and all of its other functions where the Tirfor is a single application that does winch better than a Hi-Lift, but not really that much better.

Get a legit winch if needed but IMO, the Hi-Lift would have been an adequate solution and one time purchase with many applications vs. the $300 or more I would have to spend and the weight to carry a hang winch.