Blackdog's DL650 hack

BlackdogGS

Observer
I just got this setup. I've ridden motorcycles for years but never a hack. I'm still learning and getting use to it. It's a 2003 (7,000 miles) with a 2013 DMC sidecar with every conceivable option. It cost the previous owner $12,000 for the sidecar installed. I just installed Shinko 705 tires but have a car tire on order for the rear of the bike.

1340cff228d936061d87001ddc1a8890_zps3178ab75.jpg

I've found the hack section on ADVrider very helpful.

WU7X

Snow on the Roof
Hey, we'll have to get together some time and share notes. I've got a '13 DL650 with a DMC sidecar. I have K60's on the bike. Not very many miles yet. Do you have a steering damper on the rig? I have some headshake problems at slow speed. I'm in Spokane, think you're in N. ID? If you're headed over to the NWOR/TT Rallye maybe we can drive over together?

IMG_3270.jpgIMG_3261.jpg

BlackdogGS

Observer
Hey, we'll have to get together some time and share notes. I've got a '13 DL650 with a DMC sidecar. I have K60's on the bike. Not very many miles yet. Do you have a steering damper on the rig? I have some headshake problems at slow speed. I'm in Spokane, think you're in N. ID? If you're headed over to the NWOR/TT Rallye maybe we can drive over/QUOTE]

I have head shake but I wouldn't call it a problem. I think all bikes have it at low speed. I'm in Zillah WA. Where is the rally held at? I'm still not convinced sidecars are for me. If it were an Ural or BMW I might feel differently.

WU7X

Snow on the Roof
The Northwest Overland Rallye/Touratech Rallye is held in Blaine, WA, just north of Leavenworth. It is a beautiful spot! The dates are June 25-28th. You can find more information on this site here:

http://www.expeditionportal.com/forum/threads/133997-The-Official-2015-NW-Overland-Rally-Thread