Best value these days: 4Runner or GX460?

JakeH

Adventurer
I love my GX460 and expect to put another 200k on it. I've driven 4runners and land cruisers but the only trade I would make is that new sequoia TRD pro or capstone. Super dope

Rotorwash109

Just bought a new GX. I’m not a new car guy at all but had a friend that is a manager at Lexus offered one up at a bargain.

A GX was my next car regardless, there is just no comparison to a 4runner besides looks. I just had to get one of the last V8’s toyota is putting out.

I work in the auto industry and the future is….bleak regarding longevity and reliability with all the small displacement and turbo motors.

Last edited:
I'm 95% sure the GX has a higher GVWR. The payload should be pretty similar but the GX will handle it better.
GX’s gross is higher, but its curb is even higher. Edmunds has a 2016 GX at 6500 GVWR/1400 max payload with the 4Runner at 6300 GVWR/1625 max payload. Door jambs will vary, but generally speaking the GX has less room to gross rating because it has a much higher curb weight.

GX is rated to tow 6500 lb, while 5th gen 4Runners with the 4.0 are rated to tow 5000 lb.

Tex68w

Beach Bum
GX all day, every day. I've owned three 5th Gen 4Runners and two GX460's and soon to add a third. The GX wins in every single way except for the lack of a roll down rear window and looks.

MotoDave

Explorer
I picked up a 2010 GX460 late last year for less than what similar year & mileage (<100k) 4runners were going for, for many of the reasons posted in this thread.