Best option to power just a few things...

bootzilla

Adventurer
Hey guys,

I've got an event coming up in a few months where I will have to power a Laptop (2.5a Power supply) and a small mixer (says .5a in the manual) for about 3 hours (4 max) a day (not all at once, probably in like 5 30-40 minute increments throughout the day) for two days.

I am going to use a small inverter - probably about 400 watts, but I am not sure what the best route to go is on 12v power to the inverter. I am going to be a long way from home - so I can't get stuck with a dead battery - so I don't know whether I should go with a second battery just to power the equipment (probably a little bit of overkill, but once it is installed, I can use it for other stuff down the road), or whether maybe I should go with a small solar charger connected to the main battery instead:sunny: .

Sorry for being so clueless about supplying 120v to stuff on the road - I've never done this before in a car, so I want to make sure I do it right, have enough power to run everything, and don't leave myself stranded.

Oh - and my main battery is an Optima red-top. Truck is a Trooper.

Opinions? Ideas?

Thanks!!

asteffes

Explorer
How about one big battery and a jumpstart pack just in case? Something like an Odyssey 2150 (group 31) or the big Optima Blue Top?

mountainpete

Spamicus Eliminatus
Hi bootzilla,

I was thinking similar to asteffes. First, you already have an Optima Red Top which is good. A jumpstart/boostbox is a great low cost backup. Costco has a very high amp version for cheap and they are always great to have. I keep one in my truck with me all winter to help boost other cars.

If you don't have the power inverter yet, try and find one that has a low battery cutoff. The one I have won't let the battery drop below a certain point. Nice safety feature.