Beginnings of EV use, real world.

UKPhil68

Hello All,

Long time lurker, first time poster here from the UK.
There's a lot of discussion on this subforum about pickups being enough, not enough; range being enough or not enough so I thought I'd post with my experience so far and link to another bloke doing far more than me.

I've run VW transporter vans and Nissan Navara (Frontier) pickups in the past but have recently moved over to an electric Nissan E-NV200.
Its the 40KW/hr model, so has 150 mile Imp. range.
I'm a welding inspector in the UK gas industry, so work all over the UK.
I've thrown a camp bed and a coolbox in the back for now to test out the usefulness of a small electric van.
I'm currently working 170 miles from home, so charge at home using a wall outlet. We have 240V 16A here in the UK so charges over the weekend easily,
I then stop 90 miles in to my journey, top off and get to work with about 30-40% left.
That usually takes around 40 mins at the moment and costs around £8-00-£9-00. All the chargers are swapping over to PAYG using contactless card billing so dead easy to use.
What I'm finding is that, by the time I've been for a pee, bought a coffee and a pastry, got back to the van and eaten/drank them I'm only sat for 15-20 mins waiting.
I'm using this as a convenient nap time, given its usually 6-00AM and I'm 53!
I'm lucky, in the UK some of the supermarkets are offering free chargers in their carparks to attract customers so get free fillups during the week, while camping at a local site.
Home on a friday is a similar trip: half-way ish, top up and home.
One added bonus, is that the heater-A/C works when plugged in so I can sleep at a nice 18c whatever happens outside. it seems to use next to no energy either, not noticeably extending my charges.
There is another bloke over her who has gone whole hog and made his van into a tiny camper; he is @glynhudson on Insta and Youtube.
He's done 1500 mile trips on a 24KWh , all over Europe!