Beginning Trailer Build- Looking for advice on trailer frames/ chassis

travelingrn24

I am still in the brainstorming and researching phase of planning a trailer build. I know I want to build my actual trailer with composite panels, but I am having a hard time figuring out where to start with the frame. Ultimately, I want a trailer frame with timbren independent axle- less suspension, trailer brakes and tail lights and a 7 pin connector. I haven't decided yet if I want aluminum or steel. Also, I have no welding experience. Are most people assembling their own frame or where do you look to purchase one? Any advice is welcome!

Last edited:

jwiereng

I think steel welding is more accessible for beginners. Easier to learn steel, and welding machine are less cost. A simple tombstone welder could be used to make a fine trailer frame.

A second advice is to consider hot dip galvanize your steel trailer frame. Usually not a lot more costly than paint, and 50 + years lifetime

Check out trailersauce for ideas and plans https://www.trailersauce.com/

Teardropper

I haven't decided yet if I want aluminum or steel. Also, I have no welding experience.

If you are considering welding your own, there's no question about it; go with steel. Aluminum welding and trailer design is a different beast.

Learning to weld isn't an enormous challenge. Here's my wife welding up a teardrop chassis for her son's wedding present. Her first welding project.

MoGib3e.jpg

Many Youtube videos explain MIG welding, but it helps if you can find a mentor.

Tony

1000arms