at Fuel Light...How Long

BRONZ

Guys

I am still learning about my 04 DC Taco. Today I wanted to see how far I could go on a tank of gas.

353.6 miles w/o any mods.
The last 15.5 miles with the fuel light on.
Put 16.8 gals. in at the forth click from the gas nozzle so I think I am getting about 20 to 21 mpg.

I was carrying a 2.5 gal fuel can so I could run it close. I would have driven a little longer but the road I was getting to didn't have shoulders if the motor stopped and well that would have sucked.

I did a search but didn't come up with anything. Does the fuel light blink at the very end.

I have a question about a possible brake noise but I will try the search feature first.

MountainBiker

Experience Seeker
BRONZ said:
Guys

I am still learning about my 04 DC Taco. Today I wanted to see how far I could go on a tank of gas.

Put 16.8 gals. in at the forth click from the gas nozzle so I think I am getting about 20 to 21 mpg.

I was carrying a 2.5 gal fuel can so I could run it close. I would have driven a little longer but the road I was getting to didn't have shoulders if the motor stopped and well that would have sucked.

I did a search but didn't come up with anything. Does the fuel light blink at the very end.
My '02 Tacoma should function the same as yours in this regard. There is no flashing of the light as you get closer to empty. I've run it all the way to empty with no change in the light. Every gas tank seems to be different as to how much is left (that can be picked up by the pump)when the light comes on, so testing it is the best way to find out if you really want to know.

BogusBlake

2006 Expedition Trophy Champion