Arcteryx help

jeepxj13

Adventurer
Can someone recommend me a Arcteryx winter jacket for Alabama. I am new to the company and would like to buy a high quality jacket for the up coming winter. It will be a graduation gift so price is not a huge deal. $600 or so. I just want on I only have to wear a tee in the winter time and can layer if I go up north any.

Honu

lost on the mainland
what is the company ? :)

not sure if you have REI out that way or other store that carries them ?
I tried on a bunch ended up with one of their soft shell setups that have some stretch its light nice for cold dry mornings with just a shirt put on a fleece and its good in the snow for me with a turtle neck under it on sale at REI for under $200 its kinda like the current gamma jacket

for a harder shell I preferred the Mountain Hardware stuff in a more true SHELL design meaning non stretch type fabrics but can say the new stretch type stuff I love but I live in a dry climate for the most part

reasons I like the stretch type stuff is it comfort super wind resistance nice fit over true shell type setups

not sure if you know about TAD
http://www.tripleaughtdesign.com/
worth a look also makes some really nice stuff

Christophe Noel

Expedition Leader
I work for an Arcteryx dealer. For starters, I guess you have to decide if you want this thing to be waterproof and breathable. If that's the case, I think you're barking up the wrong tree. Arcteryx is proper backcountry gear. As such, most of what they provide are layered systems. Base layer (moisture management) + Mid Layer (insulation) + Outer Layer (water and wind proofness).