Arb fridge... what am I doing wrong?

jktowhere

Observer
So I picked up a used Arb 50qt from a guy upgrading to a larger size. He and the deal were legit so I fee this is user error. I have never used one before and I guess I expected it to be like a normal fridge.

He told me the sweet spot was 28 for cold and 18 for freeze when using. I felt the top stuff was to warm. Cans were slightly cold but not chilled.

Is there normally that much of a variance from the digitial read out to actual temp? I need to put a thermostat in there. Between playing around with it I froze all my veggies by adjust the temp to see what it would do.

What temps do you guys keep them at for normal cooler temps (not freeze)

68camaro

Any River...Any Place
I keep my ARB refrig at 38*, never used as freezer. I have ARB's external monitor but not sure if it reads inside temp or temp from digital guger readout on frig. Either way my food/stuff is always cold. Saying "sweet spot is 28* for cold to me is odd. Normal refrigerators are usually around 37'ish. 28 seems super cold, like below freezin cold.

jadmt

ignore button user
bottom gets colder and also you need it pretty full to really work properly or at least that is my experience. I have to thermometers in mine and have it set at 32* (I did calibrate mine) so if yours was not calibrated i can see how the sweet spot is 28* on the digital read out. It took me a few days to get mine sorted out. I keep stuff that I want frozen or near frozen on the very bottom and things I don't want frozen up higher. When it is at home I keep it full of beer and pop and have it at 32* and frosty cold but not frozen

Chris Boyd

Explorer
In my experience, and that is what I’ve heard as anecdotal evidence, the temperature display it is the compressor output temperature and you’re most likely to see that on the bottom right towards the back wall.