Any info on old 4x4 Winnebago?

cstamm81

Adventurer
So I've always had this dream of trying to live and travel for an extended period of time in a camper of some sort. Although I'd love to have a camper Mog or some other exotic rig, the $$$ just isnt there. Enter the old camper / RV possibility.
I randomly surf craigslist for interesting RV's, and I ran across this one:
http://boston.craigslist.org/sob/rvs/1008198090.html
The kicker is it is 4wd! I know it's a longshot but anyone have any experience with something similar, or just an old RV in general? I would imagine the drive train should be redone, but I can rebuild a small block chrysler for about $2000, good trans for about $1000. He has sent me interior pics, and it seems clean and looks to be somewhat redone. I can't tell if it's full time 4wd, I am hoping it has a transfer case. Thoughts on this jalopy?

Lynn

Expedition Leader
I'm no expert on Winnies, but I did help my father build and repair campers when I was a kid.

Obviously, since the pix are on the beach and there are rod holders on the back, you should be worried about rust and water intrusion.

That Winnie looks to be a typical construction. i.e. wood framing w/ aluminum skin. You would need to inspect it really well and be vigilant for water intrusion and wood rot, especially around any roof penetrations (A/C and vents). Water stains on the ceiling are a bad sign.

If it happens to have a fiberglass roof, that’s a bonus, but I don’t think Winnie did that. The roof is probably tin or aluminum sheet over wood framing, and would have to have been resealed on a regular basis, along with the seams where the walls meet the roof re-caulked, or it would get water intrusion and wood rot. Pay particular attention to the areas around the roof AC and vents for signs of bad caulking and water intrusion.