Alaskan truck camper converted to a travel trailer!

myfootstepsfirm

I converted my late-60's Alaskan truck camper to a travel trailer back in 2016. I've been using it regularly for over two years now and LOVE it. Thought I'd share the build in case anyone else was thinking about converting their truck camper to a travel trailer.

Here's the short of it:

Bought a late sixties 8' NCO (Non-Cab Over) Alaskan camper, mounted it to a new 6' x 8' trailer from Tractor Supply. Cut the rails off of the cargo trailer, built a 3/4" square stock frame, skinned it in white aluminum, and mounted vintage cargo doors and vintage vent doors purchased at an RV salvage yard.

TOTAL Gross Weight of trailer with all gear loaded (everything except food): 2,100 lbs (GVWR 2,400 lbs)

Tongue weight: 220 lbs (spec is 360 lbs max)

Drive axle weight: 1880 lbs (spec is 2200 lbs max)

Each Maxxis M8008 tire is capable of a maximum weight of 1480 lbs each (2,960 combined)

The Tractor Supply 6 x 8 trailer weights 725 lbs

The remaining weight is 1375 lbs....so figure 100lbs for gear (there isn't much) so the Alaskan weighs ~1275 lbs

My flavor of camping might be a little different than most of the folks on Expedition Portal but thought I'd share my build anyway.
I love the post WWII era 1945-1949 so I wanted to give the interior that look...without actually modifying the inside of the trailer. I kept it 100% original..,but added a vintage radio, 1940's wall art, and tropical barkcloth curtains.

I love the juxtaposition of a refined vintage weekend out in the wilderness. It's a weird thrill to be out in the middle of nowhere and cook a full post-war dinner in period correct style. Yes...super weird I know...lol.

Anyway, here's the pics. Enjoy and please feel free to ask questions or comment.

Alaskan utility trailer.jpg
Initial mount to cargo trailer!
Alaskan_rear.png
Conversion complete - hydraulic roof down
Alaskan_Vespa.jpg
Hydraulic roof up
Alaskan_Truck.jpg
Alaskan Interior_Final.jpg