Advice needed: bending/molding plastic flares to fit

rickc

Adventurer
I just installed an ARB Summit bar to my Colorado and now need to trim and shape the leading edge of the front Bushwacker flares. These flares stick out a little more than others so just cutting will not work; there will be a large hole at the leading edge to catch wind and dirt. I have a heat gun. I was thinking of cutting the flares about 3cm too long and then heating and bending the leading edge inwards and then epoxy gluing the ends but I've never done this before and those flares were very expensive.

Another option is to give myself an extra 3cm and bend it so that it tucks in behind the bumper to fill the gap a little neater.

Has anyone else done something similar and if so any words of wisdom?

Here's what I'm working with:

Attachments

• front bumper 1.JPG
    front bumper 1.JPG
    60 KB · Views: 43
  • front bumper 2.JPG
    front bumper 2.JPG
    84 KB · Views: 41

rickc

Adventurer
Thanks, just did this and will report back. I scoured the Internet for "bending duraflex" and got no where.

cyclic

Adventurer
I'd just cut it where it needs it and then use the cut off portion to make a cap for the hole. Use a soldering iron to melt the patch back in.

rickc

Adventurer
cyclic: that's always been Plan A! I was hoping someone had bent this stuff before.

rayra

Expedition Leader
I think I'd trim it to terminate at the new bumper and trim the edge closest to the tire to continue the diagonal bend line on the side of the bumper so it visually looks good.
But that might not work, depending on how much more the flares jut out than the bumper.

Bending, you need to apply even heat before attempting the bend and have a way to hold the flare how you want it while it cools. Maybe carve some styrofoam to serve as a pattern buck and some big 'F' clamps to clamp the heated flare to the buck as it cools.