Add yet another XJ to the list. :)

cdn_xj

Observer
Greetings from Vancouver, BC. :)

After several years of slumming with the rockcrawlers and autocrossers (jk!) I've decided that bouncing off of boulders and trees non-stop is a little more than I'm willing to deal with. I figure getting old will do that to a person. :)

Anywho, I bought my '95 XJ Sport 5 years ago and over that time have slowly replaced the parts that alternately fell off or blew up. I'm now ready to kick my build-up into the ever finances-dependent middle gear.

"Why an XJ?" Some may ask. Well, I'm not new to wheeling, or Jeeps for that matter, having owned, wheeled, and mostly repaired a YJ for 11 years. So I am intimately familiar with the vehicle and its capabilities. And G-wagens were and still are too damned expensive for me to afford.

That said, I AM new to overlanding and am looking forward to learning lots. :)

Cheers to all!
Yen-Hsen

BIGdaddy

Expedition Leader
Excellent. Welcome!

My rig is a 1992 XJ, that is lifted about 2" and has some other new bits, but is otherwise stock. I've found that these trucklets are very capable of carrying 2 people and gear with very little in the way of modifications on overland trips.

For me with a family of 5, it does pretty darned well carrying the lot of us, lightly loaded, pulling a small 4x8 cargo trailer with our camping supplies, firewood, fuel, water, etc. Pulling up around the hilly camping area's in socal, I managed about 16-17mpgs while comfortably doing 65 most of the time.

Definitely some good infomation on the ExPo, but for a great read on a few XJ's that have their share of travel under their belts, check these out...

www.XXXpedition.com

and

www.go.jeep-xj.info

BlackClassic

If Not Now When?
Welcome my fellow XJ-er! I myself am also new to overlanding but hope to also have fun with it. Do you have any pics of your 95 and what are some of your plans include? And also good luck with your build and trips.

cdn_xj

Observer