A.R.E. Aluminum DCU “camper lite” build

Bella PSD

Explorer
A.R.E. Aluminum DCU “camper lite” build

I have kicked the fiberglass cap trend I have had going for 15 plus years.
Truck_Rack_and_topper_007b.jpg

This aluminum cap will become my everyday cap: sort of the Swiss army knife of truck caps for my F350. This A.R.E is not meant to replace my Flip Pac camper for camping. I would call this build just enough to get by camping. As a commercial photographer I am also looking to have a place to work on camera files on the road, so I will work that into the cap too.

So begins the build…..
Truck_Rack_and_topper_048.jpg

I ended up with an A.R.E. Aluminum DCU cap that's 29” tall model. That means its only about 3” taller than the truck cab. On other trucks, the 29” model will be even higher up on the truck cab than the Ford Superduty. This was the biggest decision I had to make, do I want the cap higher than the truck… The extra roof height has its drawbacks but the added headroom made it more than worth it.
Truck_Rack_and_topper_013.jpg

One other benefit to the extra roof height was the back doors and especially the side doors have been enlarged with the taller 29” model. The side compartments are truly huge.
Truck_Rack_and_topper_018.jpg

Security was a concern for me having camera gear loaded up in the cap. No fear with this cap. It has folding heavy duty SS T handles and each door locks in 3 places.
Truck_Rack_and_topper_042.jpg

The back door also has Security screens over the glass for added protection.
Truck_Rack_and_topper_041.jpg

One reason I like the two-door option on the side is someone would have to break into 5 separate doors to get everything.
Truck_Rack_and_topper_019.jpg

Truck_Rack_and_topper_011.jpg

Truck_Rack_and_topper_016.jpg