3rd Gen 4Runner Tech Question

Utah KJ

Free State of Florida
I'm not a mechanical person so pardon my possibly basic question, it's probably not even specific to Toyota. Although, I've become quite the expert at replacing passenger side CV axles (that's a separate mystery tho). I started driving my 4Runner (D.A.V.e) again a couple of days ago after it sat for about 6 months. When I parked it everything was fine, now, the steering is whack.
I drove home approximately 7 miles, no issues. The next day, I'm diving to work and I get the uneasy feeling that the steering wheel didn't have much to do with the direction the vehicle was traveling in, and suddenly, I needed to turn the wheel 1/4 turn to the left to keep it traveling straight. Last night, I'm driving home and the steering wheel is back to center, then at one point, things seem drifty again and I'm back to the 1/4 turn to the left to stay straight on the road. This morning, I drive to work steering wheel is true again, gets drifty again, but this time, I got to turn a 1/8 turn to the RIGHT to keep straight. By the end of my commute, the wheel is back to center. It's those terrifying couple of seconds of transition that I'm not having fun with. I'm a bit sensitive to steering issues ever since I was driving a classic Pontiac on the freeway and the steering wheel became completely disconnected after some pin fell out, good times, but another story.

This is what I know of the condition. D.A.V.e and I have been marooned in South Florida since 2013 so there's been no offroad, and has hardly been driven since 9/2016 when I bought my 2007 WK CRD.

In 2013 I had a new steering rack installed.
In 2014 I had new lower control arms, new end links and various parts and peices, installed as part of a $5k overhaul of multiple mechanical issues.
In 2016, I had new tires and an alignment done