2M Recommendations For Beginners Please!

Dave Bennett

Adventurist
I am starting this thread for us folks thinking of getting into 2M.

My CB doesnt do too well when out on the trail, it is merely OK. I need range and clarity. This is also a safety concern for me.

2M seems to be the way to go but I know there is much to consider when purchasing a unit and getting into something new. I dont want to get one and then wish later that I had went with something different... I've had enough buyers remorse with my expedition purchases.

I am a total newbie to this so I need help. I am also on a budget so I need to find the best "bang for the buck". Also, do I need a HAM license for 2M?

I need someone to break it all down Barney style for us!

Suggestions and input please!!!

Last edited:

benedmonson

Disabled Adventurer
I'm currently going thru the same thing, as much time as I spend with no other vehicles around in Southern Utah and Mexico it was a no brainer for me! Along with the SPOT system I also purchased last week I bought the following items to get my Ham Radio career going:

1. Yaesu FT-7800 Dual Band Radio (Provides dual bands, 2M + 70cm) $249.00 with free head seperation kit and shipping! http://www.gigaparts.com/store.php?action=profile&sku=ZYS-FT-7800R

2. Spoke to the guys at www.expeditionexchange.com and they hooked me up with the Diamond Antenna NR770HB Dualband VHF/UHF Mobile Antenna (NR770HB) $60 along with the Diamond Antenna K540 Mobile Antenna Mount (K540) $36 and Diamond Antenna C213 Coaxial Cable Assembly (C213) $42.

3. The book to have:Arrl Ham Radio License Manual http://www.amazon.com/Arrl-Ham-Radi...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1195848526&sr=8-1