29er

michaels

Explorer
i'm thinking about getting a single speed or 1x9 29er. so far i've been looking at niner and independent fabrications. i'm trying to stay as close to $1000 as possible, but will go up to $1500 for the right one.

any suggestions?

mountainsoul

Adventurer
For me there is no comparison. IF make some of the nicest bikes around. Niners are decent, average bikes that are way overhyped imho. But finding an IF for $1000-1500 isn't going to be easy. Their Steel Deluxe is a sweet ride but frame only is approx $1800.

I'd buy an IF in a heartbeat.

1speed

Explorer
You can't beat this for the money. http://www.qballbikes.com/

They are made by Scott Quiring http://www.quiringcycles.net/ and the quality is top notch. I have two (1 singlespeed and 1 with gears) that I've been riding for a few years now.

P3120016.jpg

P3120021.jpg

Christophe Noel

Expedition Leader
Finding a nice bike for that budget won't be too hard, but finding a good 1x9 out of a box will be a bit more of a challenge. You won't find an IF, that's a given since frames start above your budget. There are tons of nice mid-level singlespeeds out there like a Surly Karate Monkey, Vassago Jaberwoky, Redline Monocog Flight, Fisher Rig, etc. I actually like the Felt SS for the money. The new Salsa El Mariachi is pretty slick for the coin and would give you the option of SS or 1x9.

1speed

Explorer
It absolutely blows my mind at how much some people will spend on a bike with no gears. The million dollar hubs that sound like a killer mosquito bussing by, billet aluminum this and that component(s).....I hate guys like that

http://www.nashbar.com/bikes/Product_10053_10052_502354_-1_201664_10000_200516

or a gary fisher rig would be cool, I almost got the 09 model for cheap, wish I did when i had the chance.

Why hate?