'01-'04 DC Manual Tranny conversion?

ChuckB

Expedition Leader
Another post that touched on this topic has sparked me to start a thread on it. I have been thinking about this for a few days as I am Tacoma-sitting my friends '02 DC SR5 PreRunner (manual everything, except the tranny of course). I have enjoyed driving it; much smoother ride than my FJ55 :sombrero:.

I showed my wife (who is not generally a truck girl) the AT Flip-pac and she thought that it was very interesting and might suit our needs, as did I. Hence, my stray from the Land Cruiser section.

I don't want this to turn into an auto vs. manual transmission debate. To each their own... I have searched the archives and there does not seem to be any info on this particular topic.

I have little to no experience with Tacomas. However, it would seem logical that due to the existence of manual transmissions in 3rd-gen 4Runners and other Tacoma models of the same model run that a conversion would be theoretically possible.

Aside from cost. Is there anything preventing the use of near 100% OEM parts to do a conversion like this? I can only assume (maybe incorrectly) that there are no issues with tranny/t-case/diff alignment since the drivetrain should be near identical on all of the 4R/Tacos?

As always thoughts/discussion from the ExPo community is much appreciated.

Rexsname

Explorer
The automatic transmission is controlled by a seperate computer. What I don't know is, do these two computers talk to each other or are they stand alone units.

Any thing 'can' be done.....how bad do you want it?$$$$

REX

Desert Dan

Explorer
If you are moving to CA I would checking with the DMV / smog testing to see if you can change the trans to a manual before doing the conversion.

a.mus.ed

Explorer
Maybe finding a wrecked Tacoma of the same year, with a MT is the way to go - you get the tranny, the comp, and anything else you might need.