Taco Regearing cost?

Redline

Likes to Drive and Ride
I agree, good choice with 4.88s.

Also like your 235/85 tire size, they should help with MPG a bit.

Some of us like vanilla. "Extra vanilla" is almost like having vanilla fudge :)

snip...

I changed from 4.10 (stock) to 4.88.

I think the 4.56 option would have been a negligible improvement.

Last edited:

Newtac11

Observer
I saw your truck at Jeds recently. It looked nice.

Not to derail, but I just saw it today myself. It gave me ideas I don't think my wife would approve of....

Back to topic...do you think the power band would remain close to stock with 265's instead of 235's using the 4.88's, or would I need to go down to 5....somethings?

NothingClever

Explorer
I'm no expert but I think you'll be fine.

My 235s don't seem that much larger than 265s.

When you get into the 5s, I think you're starting to get into ratios better suited for mild rock crawling.

Again, I'm no expert and have relied on Jed to help me make decisions. His advice was that getting into the 5s would compromise the interstate "application" of the truck.

Last edited:

Redline

Likes to Drive and Ride
Correct, the difference between most 265/75 and 235/85 is a few tenths of an inch, hardly enough to be concerned about. There are some 265s that are as tall or taller than some 235s, just depends on the tire.

Snip...

My 235s don't seem that much larger than 265s.
Snip....

farrdg

Not to derail, but I just saw it today myself. It gave me ideas I don't think my wife would approve of....

Back to topic...do you think the power band would remain close to stock with 265's instead of 235's using the 4.88's, or would I need to go down to 5....somethings?