Building my own sliders and plans for LR

Lentsnh

I'm new to this site but I have some MIG experience and am willing to tackle building rock sliders for my 2004 Discovery SE.

I plan to make a "protector rock slider" which goes right under the plastic rockers. About an inch and a half between the rocker and top of the slider.

I will be making it out of 2X1 square tubing for the slider part, 1 1/2" round tubing for the supports and then 3/4" sheet metal for the base to weld onto the frame.

I may also make my own variation of a Equipe 4x4 front bumper, I just have to get plans for it.

After Christmas, Im still saving up and waiting to buy a Rovertym 3" suspension lift with Bilstein shocks. Cragar Streetlock D hole wheels and 265/75/16 Firestone Destination MTs.

Lentsnh

I'm new to this site but I have some MIG experience and am willing to tackle building rock sliders for my 2004 Discovery SE.

I plan to make a "protector rock slider" which goes right under the plastic rockers. About an inch and a half between the rocker and top of the slider.

I will be making it out of 2X1 square tubing for the slider part, 1 1/2" round tubing for the supports and then 3/4" sheet metal for the base to weld onto the frame.

I may also make my own variation of a Equipe 4x4 front bumper, I just have to get plans for it.

After Christmas, Im still saving up and waiting to buy a Rovertym 3" suspension lift with Bilstein shocks. Cragar Streetlock D hole wheels and 265/75/16 Firestone Destination MTs.

IMG_0616.jpg

IMG_0615.jpg

AxeAngel

Expedition Leader
I made a set using 2x4 3/16" tube and some angle iron to sandwich the frame. The sliders need to curve to follow the lines of the truck, a shop press should handle this.

There are a few southeastern guys who have experience with building sliders, michaels comes to mind. Might wanna hit him up for info. AFAIK we both used the same set of plans to build our sliders.