Tired of Old Junk but no Interest in Newer 4x4s

calicamper

Expedition Leader
Anyone know of a way to ween yourself off old Toyota 4x4s? I think I may have a problem with them. Can't bring myself to sell the LC; I always back out of deals.
Took me a long time to sell the J80. In the end I didn’t miss it. Get a trail ebike toss it on the back of a 2door convertible. Best fun on and off pavement ?

calicamper

Expedition Leader
A GX470 should do the trick! : )
LOL I was so close to doing that even had an offer on an over priced one. In the end soo glad the dealer tried to pull the most blatant BS and I walked away. Would have only been slightly better than the J80 regarding power and comfort and the same lousy mileage and range ?. The 07 Sequoia was a far better weening vehicle in every way?. Less $ and 1/2 the miles too!

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
I'm not a mechanic and I've never owned a 22re, but a headgasket every 125k seems a bit extreme, in fact that sounds more like the 3.slow that came in those pickups. I've also heard people say the top end should be rebuilt every 150k on the 1fz, but plenty have over twice that on the original gasket. Even the most meticulous owners probably wouldn't open it up as soon as they hit a certain mileage without any signs of an issue.