Gaia vs Onx

Zuber

The Open Source maps are excellent. Is there any of these iOS or Droid based apps that can use them?

I also have a Garmin 276cX (the smallest chart plotter), I bought it with no base map and down loaded the Open Source map. This is a real GPS tool. Of course it was $500.

tall

The Open Source maps are excellent. Is there any of these iOS or Droid based apps that can use them?
I've been using OsmAnd+ for a few months and it seems pretty good. Android and iOS. I'm using it in conjunction with Avenza (for my local geo/pdf maps like MVUM). The Openstreets maps are great and the layers and routing offerings are decent. It's a little clunky UI-wise, but it seems even the pro apps (I had planned on signing up for Gaia after a trial subscription but changed those plans when they killed their multi-year subscription deal) still have usability issues.

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck

I also have a Garmin 276cX (the smallest chart plotter), I bought it with no base map and down loaded the Open Source map. This is a real GPS tool. Of course it was $500.
Do you mean OpenStreetMaps? On Android I like OruxMaps since it can use OSM maps in Mapsforge format.

https://oruxmaps.com/cs/en/

https://www.openandromaps.org/en

It also has a PDF rendering engine and can display georeferenced PDFs (GeoPDF). So you have the option to show USFS MVUMs, BLM travel plans, National Park maps.

On iOS I personally use Caltopo, which has the option to use OSM as a baselayer. Although their Mapbuilder Topo I think is fine and for extra information I'll layer the USFS FSTopo on top or MVUM. But I also have Maps.Me on it, which seems just to be OSM data. But they organize the maps by state so it's easy to maintain on the phone.

https://maps.me/maps/

Last edited:

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
Yup, Open Street Maps. In the West USA they are very accurate and detailed. Works great in my 276Cx and as the base map for Garmin's POS BaseCamp.