F-350 Configuration for Truck Camper Build (NorthStar 850SC)

discohead

Hi All, I'm preparing to place an order for an F-350 that will haul a NorthStar 850SC pop-up truck camper. I've done a lot of homework, think I've got it sorted, but this is my first time buying a full size truck or truck camper, so I'm just looking for any feedback/suggestions from more experienced folks before I pull the trigger. Ford's max payload chart puts this configuration at 4970lbs, with the added options, I'm hoping it comes in around 4500lbs (+/- 100 lbs). The camper has a base dry weight of 1785lbs, so I'm guessing it'll weigh about 3000lbs once it's wet, optioned and fully loaded. The goal here is to preserve as much of the truck's off-road capability as possible. Aftermarket wheels, tires and suspension will likely happen at some point down the road, but not right away. Primary use case will be off-road, off-grid trips... shorter at first, but with a goal of eventually going full-time, (which would likely entail going to a custom flatbed). Without further adieu, below is the platform I'm thinking of starting with... thoughts? ideas? anything you'd do differently? Full build PDF attached. Any guidance will be appreciated!

• F-350 XLT
  • SuperCab
  • 8' Box
  • SRW
  • 4x4
  • 7.3L Gas
  • 4.30 Axle
  • LT275/70Rx18E BSW A/T, 4x4 Tires
  • FX4 Off-Road Package
  • Snow Plow / Camper Package
  • Ultimate Trailer Tow Camera System with Pro Trailer Backup Assist
  • XLT Value Package
  • Dual Battery
  • Dual HD Alternators
  • Wheel Well Liner - Front/Rear
  • Individual Trailer TPMS/Customer-Placed Trailer Camera
  • Upfitter Switches

Attachments

• F-350_XLT_build.pdf
    1.1 MB · Views: 20

sneeben_keel