2020 Ram 5500 DIY Composite Panel Camper Build Thread

StenchRV

@Vance Vanz and @StenchRV

Thanks for the kind words guys! Its all still a work in progress, but i am loving how its all falling together.

Unfortunately, i dont have much advice, actually none, about sources for the subframe in the US.

DDG https://www.ddgoverland.com in BC seems to be doing some amazing work and offering shippable subframes. I have no PERSONAL experience with their stuff, but following their IG and chatting with them a bunch via DM, they definitely know what they are doing.

As for advice, what i would do differently, and what i would change... loaded question... but...

-When discussing needs with builder, stick to your guns and dont let them talk you into things you dont agree with. Example, I did not want my bumper welded to the subframe in any way shape or form. My builder was adamant about doing it and i eventually caved into the idea for time reasons. I am 100% regretting this and the idea of having the rear bumper and the subframe one piece is idiotic and problematic for a whole bunch of reasons.

-Review all aspects of the subframe regarding what has to come out of the bottom of the camper (furnace exhaust, gray water drains, power, etc....) This is also coming back to bite me in the butt. I went over this with my builder, and it was in one ear, out the other basically. I am a big fan of over building things, but the amount of bracing and crossmembers on my subframe are both way overkill, and very much a pain in the ******** for layout. I have had to alter my layout based on where i could get my gray water drain through and where i could get my furnace exhaust through.

-The rear most portion of the frame was warped and bowed upon delivery, and luckily i was able to get some talented friends to fix it properly. They are busy as hell with their fab shops so i knew they didnt have the time to build the thing from scratch, or i would of went that route.