Trailscape's 06 Tundra

trailscape

Explorer
I don't recall what shocks you are running on the rear. I have shocks with adjustable dampeners on the rear, so when my truck is loaded down I crank them up and it dramatically firms up the rear. No sway at all. Normal driving unloaded I run them at position "1" (out of 10). Loaded up I run them at "8" or "9". I haven't connected my front sway bar for probably 4 years now. I should also mention that I'm running stock leaf packs with single AAL and overload spring retained.

Thanks. Thinking I might be due for a shock upgrade. I’ve been running the Old man emu kit from toytec for probably five years now. I did upgrade to the archive garage leaf springs.

smokeysevin

Observer
Shocks will probably help more than you would expect.

I don't run a front sway bar but I also don't have a topper which could make a difference. I am running 2.5" coilovers in the front and 2.5" shocks in the rear on super soft deaver G57s. One thing that really helped the body roll was adding the airbags. If I run them empty the back likes to waggle around but with 5 to 15ish psi it really stiffens stuff up without making the ride harsh. The downside is that one of my lines has a leak in it somewhere and the drivers side likes to go soft.

The cantilever rear shock setup I use isn't great for body roll because the shocks are further inboard than they would ideally be. I needed the clearance for the bags so the mounts went where they are.

Generally you want the shocks as far outboard on the axle as possible to resist body roll. It has no impact on purely vertical axle travel where they are mounted but on roll you effectively increase your lever length by running them out as far as possible.

Sean

trailscape

Explorer
Shocks will probably help more than you would expect.