Looking for air compressor input

gkieser92

I am just getting started in overlanding/off-road driving, and have learned that one of the first things I need to manage is tire deflation/inflation. I found the tire deflator thread, which is useful, but need some more info on air compressors. My vehicle is a 1997 Lexus LX450, completely stock with 275-70-R16 tires on stock rims. This vehicle is 95% for daily driving, so modifications are going to be minimal. My goal is to get out on remote fire roads, as well as beginner and moderate OHV trails. Rock crawling will be minimal. Since I will only be airing up/down a few times a year, I believe a portable air compressor is best for me, and value is important. I can't afford something like an ARB, but I also can't afford to find myself with deflated tires and a broken compressor either. I have found the following examples on Amazon:

GSPSCN Silver Dual Cylinder 12V Air Compressor Pump for Car, Heavy Duty Portable Tire Inflator 150PSI with LED Work Lights for Auto,Truck,SUV, RV,Balls etc-This seems to have good specs, but I have never heard of the GSPSCN brand. Main plus for this is 2.42 CFM volume.

Viair 00088 88P Portable Air Compressor-Viair seems to be a brand that is mentioned around here, but this is one of their lower-end models. By comparison, this is only 1.47 CFM compared to the one above.

Am I on the right track or is there something completely different I should look at?

billiebob

umm, for forestry road travel there is no need to air down. And if you are in forestry road territory the gound is firm enough to support without airing down. If you are doing lots of sandy beaches maybe you could air down but I live in the mountains and on a reservoir with massive beaches at low water, I have never aired down, heck I don't even have flotation tires.

Save money and weight, don't air down, don't buy a compressor if you are overlanding in North America.....