Which maps do you use in Gaia?

greg.potter

Adventurer
I use the Gaia topo layers and backcountry map books layers for travel in Canada and the slope shading layer for skiing. The slope shading layer is incredibly handy for planning route in terrain you have not been in before. I have been using Gaia for just shy of a couple of years now and due to the C-19 lockdown I haven't been south of the border yet so haven't spent any significant time looking at the map layers available for the desert southwest which is our usual destination for a respite from our long Canadian winter, but the National Geographic layers look interesting.

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
I've not used Gaia, only Backcountry Navigator... which has pointed out many ruins and hours of fun bushwhacking the Oregon desert to get to them. My only gripe is the periodic loss of data, even with a clear view of the sky.

How does Gaia perform when far off the blacktop?
Gaia and BCN need a cellular or WiFi data connection unless you cache (pre-download) everything you need ahead of time. A clear view of the sky is for the GPS in your device to locate you. Which are you having trouble with? I'd guess the former because you probably dropped off the edge of cell phone coverage.

Cathleen Shea

Hi Dave,

Makes sense. Yes, I'm thinking it's the wifi coverage. Which, ultimately, means my trusty paper BLM maps will always be the best option, eh?

I see folks raving about Gaia and wonder if I'm missing out. Just old enough at 56 to feel trapped between technology and old school. Haha.

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
Hi Dave,

Makes sense. Yes, I'm thinking it's the wifi coverage. Which, ultimately, means my trusty paper BLM maps will always be the best option, eh?

I see folks raving about Gaia and wonder if I'm missing out. Just old enough at 56 to feel trapped between technology and old school. Haha.