Introducing the “NEW” Alu-Cab Canopy Camper

Gthack123

nice setup. How do you like the Rak Attach. I have been running 1Up racks on my wife’s and my vehicles for seven years and only needed a swing hitch with the camper. I bought a Kuat Pivot and am second guessing that decision within the first week of use.
Can't beat 1up. I like the rackattach. Certainly more convenient than having to swing the 1up down in order to crawl over it and get in the camper but it's the only swing out attachment I've used so I don't really have anything to compare it to.

kthompson

@Mtpisgah I would be curious to hear your concerns with the Kuat Pivot. I had planned to purchase one to use with our 1up rack once we get our camper installed in April.

Mtpisgah

@Mtpisgah I would be curious to hear your concerns with the Kuat Pivot. I had planned to purchase one to use with our 1up rack once we get our camper installed in April.

i bought the Pivot because it was immediately available as opposed to a few weeks lead time for the Rak Attach on the sites I looked at. I installed the Pivot, tightened it like I used to tighten my Sherpa and less than I tighten the 1Up. It seemed tight and then the next day I noticed it was loose. What the heck?!? I tried to tighten it more but it never got tight in the receiver. I got home and took it off to inspect it and part of the wedge fell out.

I took it to the shop, dismantled their last right (driver swing), removed the wedge and bolt, and installed it in mine. When I dismantled mine, I found that the lateral bolt was bent. I can only imagine it bent when I tightened it after the wedge had apparently broken. The wedge is cast aluminum or pot metal while it should be steel or CNCed aluminum. It held over the weekend and hopefully it was just a bad casting. Photos have been sent to a friend of a friend who works at Kuat and he is checking with R&D, but he had never seen this happen before.